The best-documented cut-your-own operation in South Dakota, pairing a fall pumpkin festival with a Christmas season that includes a tractor-hauled trip to a lodge, but 2026 dates and the exact per-foot rate still aren't confirmed directly by the farm.
Reported as roughly $15 base plus $10-14 per foot depending on variety (per aggregator/AI-summarized web sources, not the farm's own published price sheet); not yet confirmed directly with the farm.
Riverview Christmas Tree Farm and Pumpkin Festival in Canton has been running since 1989, and it shows up across more independent sources with more consistent detail than almost any other South Dakota tree farm in this area – a farm’s own site, a statewide pick-your-own directory, and multiple local roundups all describe the same basic operation. That consistency is worth something on its own: a lot of small tree lots simply don’t have this much public documentation.
This is a full cut-your-own experience, not a grab-and-go lot. Staff provide saws, and once you’ve cut your tree, a tractor-trailer hauls you and the tree back to a lodge, where hot drinks and treats are waiting. There’s an animal petting area for kids, Santa makes visits during the season, and a gift shop sells wreaths and crafts alongside the trees. The farm also runs a fall pumpkin festival on the same property, so if pumpkins were part of your family’s autumn already, this same spot handles the Christmas leg too.
The tree selection is wider than most farms in this list: seven varieties, including Fraser fir, Canaan fir, White pine, Black Hills spruce, Blue spruce, Scotch pine, and Concolor fir. Fraser fir tends to hold its needles longer than many other species, a widely known fact rather than anything specific to this farm’s stock – but research notes here specifically flag that Fraser fir is the variety most likely to sell out first at this farm, so if that’s the tree you want, don’t wait until mid-December.
The record includes real numbers, but they come with a source caveat worth taking seriously: reported pricing is roughly $15 as a base charge plus $10-14 per foot depending on variety. That’s from an aggregator or AI-summarized web result, not the farm’s own published price list, and it hasn’t been confirmed directly with the farm. Doing the math anyway, since it’s the only concrete figure available: a 6-foot tree in the cheaper-variety range would run something like $75-99, and a 7-footer in the pricier range could push past $110. Treat those as planning estimates, not quotes, and confirm the actual number when you call or arrive.
Season dates are a real gap here. Multiple sources describe the season starting the weekend before Thanksgiving and running until the farm sells out of trees, which is a normal pattern for a well-known cut-your-own operation, but no specific 2026 start or end date has been published yet. Whether the farm takes cash only, cards, or both also isn’t stated anywhere checked. And one directory lists this business under a slightly different name, “Rivertree Christmas Tree Farm and Pumpkin Patch,” at the same address, phone number, and email – a minor inconsistency, but worth a quick mental note if you’re cross-referencing listings before you drive out, since it isn’t clear from public sources whether that’s a rebrand, an older name, or simply an error carried over between directories.
A short season that ends whenever trees sell out, rather than on a fixed calendar date, changes the math on when to go. If you wait until the second or third weekend hoping for thinner crowds, you’re also risking a picked-over selection, particularly in Fraser fir, which research notes single out as the variety most likely to go first. For a farm this well documented and this established – 1989 to today is a genuinely long run for a small seasonal business – weighing “less crowded” against “less selection” is a real tradeoff, not a hypothetical one.
If you want a full-service cut-your-own outing – hayride, lodge, petting area, wide tree selection – this is the most substantiated option in the area, and it’s worth calling ahead specifically to confirm 2026 dates, current pricing, and payment method before you commit a Saturday to the drive.
Multiple sources describe the season starting the weekend before Thanksgiving and running until trees sell out, so the earlier weekends are the safer bet for full selection, particularly if Fraser fir is what you want.
Not stated directly in the record, but this isn't a quick park-and-cut stop: a tractor-trailer hauls visitors out to the field and back to a lodge for cider and treats, which adds time beyond simply grabbing a tree.
Not stated directly, but this is described as the best-documented and most established cut-your-own farm in the state with a season that runs until trees sell out, which points to real weekend traffic, especially the first Saturday after Thanksgiving.
Not described in the record.
Not addressed in the source. The tractor-trailer ride out to the field suggests the growing area itself isn't a short walk from parking, which is worth knowing if walking distance is a concern.
Skip this one if you need a fast, no-frills tree grab, since the hayride-and-lodge setup adds time to the visit, and skip it if you're set on Fraser fir specifically and can't get out in the first week or two, since research notes flag that variety as prone to selling out early.
No specific nearby-farm comparison is available in this record, though the property itself also runs a fall pumpkin festival.
The record lists seven: Fraser fir, Canaan fir, White pine, Black Hills spruce, Blue spruce, Scotch pine, and Concolor fir.
No. The record confirms saws are provided, and staff will shake and wrap the tree for you.
Reported pricing is around $15 base plus $10-14 per foot depending on variety, according to an aggregator source rather than the farm's own published price sheet, so treat it as an estimate and confirm before you go.
Not yet published. Past seasons have started the weekend before Thanksgiving and run until trees sell out, but exact 2026 dates weren't found and should be checked directly with the farm.
2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. In past seasons it has run: Weekends (Sat/Sun), plus Thanksgiving Day afternoon in past seasons. Check with the farm before driving out.
Trees start at $15. Reported as roughly $15 base plus $10-14 per foot depending on variety (per aggregator/AI-summarized web sources, not the farm's own published price sheet); not yet confirmed directly with the farm.
Yes. It's cut-your-own and choose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you), and a saw is provided.
48392 278th Street, Canton, SD 57013, in Lincoln County. It is one of 7 farms we track in South Dakota.
We track 7 farms in South Dakota, 6 of which let you cut your own tree. At $15 to start this one sits right on the regional median of $15.
What sets it apart locally: it has a hayride or sleigh ride, a petting area, free netting/baling, which most South Dakota farms on our list do not.
One caveat worth repeating: this farm had not published its 2026 dates when we last checked, while 6 of the 7 farms we track in South Dakota had. Treat any date you see elsewhere as last year's until the farm confirms it.
There are 9 other farms we track in Lincoln County. All South Dakota farms →
riverviewtreefarm.com · pickyourownchristmastree.org · espnsiouxfalls.com
Checked September 2026.