One of the longest-established growers in this research, planting trees since 1988 and selling since 1992, with a saw handed to you at the barn for cut-your-own Virginia pine or Fraser fir — but no pricing was found and weekday hours are short.
Santa’s Forest is among the longest-established growers covered in this research. The land was purchased in 1987, trees were first planted that winter, and the farm has been selling Kay County-grown trees since 1992 — meaning it’s operated as a genuine tree-growing business for roughly four decades by the time of this research. That kind of track record is a meaningful signal of stability that newer farms in this batch simply can’t offer.
The record describes a specific, concrete visitor experience: you’re handed a saw at the barn, you cut your own Virginia pine or Fraser fir out in the field, and staff then measure, shake, and bale the tree for you. That’s a clear, traditional cut-your-own process, and the fact that a saw is provided means you don’t need to own or bring your own equipment. Two species are on offer for cutting — Virginia pine, well suited to Oklahoma’s climate, and Fraser fir, a popular choice for households that specifically want that fuller, softer-needled look, though as with most Oklahoma farms it’s worth noting fir doesn’t typically grow as reliably in-state and may be handled differently by the farm than the pine.
One planning detail worth flagging clearly: weekday hours run only 5pm to 7pm, a two-hour window, compared to a much more generous 10am-6pm on weekends. If you’re hoping to swing by after work on a weeknight, you’ll have a tight window to arrive, choose a tree, cut it, and have it baled before closing. A weekend visit gives considerably more breathing room.
Most farms in this research get a season-start estimate based on a general day-after-Thanksgiving regional pattern, treated as fairly reliable absent contradicting information. Santa’s Forest is a case where the evidence is more ambiguous: a 2024 Oklahoma Farm Report roundup specifically stated the farm opened November 30 that year, but November 30, 2024, was a Saturday — not the day after Thanksgiving, which fell on November 29 that year. That mismatch suggests the farm may follow its own fixed opening logic rather than a simple day-after-Thanksgiving rule, so the 2026 date used here is a lower-confidence placeholder rather than a confirmed match to how this specific farm operates.
No pricing or payment-method information was found in any source checked, including AARP and Yahoo local listings and a regional pick-your-own directory. A named website (santasforesttreefarm.net) turned up in search results but wasn’t independently verified as reachable during this research.
Santa’s Forest brings genuine, decades-long credibility and a straightforward hands-on cutting process, but the short weekday hours and an opening date that needs independent confirmation mean a phone call before a weekday or early-season trip is worth the effort.
Season is loosely resolved to 2026-11-30, a weekend-equivalent date with lower confidence rather than a confirmed relative rule, since a 2024 Oklahoma Farm Report roundup gave a specific 'Opens Nov. 30' date that year that fell on a Saturday, not the day after Thanksgiving. Weekend hours (10am-6pm) are considerably longer than weekday hours (5pm-7pm).
Not stated directly, but the process of being handed a saw at the barn, cutting your own tree, and having staff measure, shake, and bale it suggests a hands-on visit of meaningful length rather than a quick grab-and-go.
Not stated directly. A farm operating since the late 1980s with an established local reputation likely sees a bump on weekends and around the first Saturday after Thanksgiving, consistent with most cut-your-own operations.
Not described in the record.
Not addressed in the source. Assume an unpaved field, as is typical for a farm growing trees on site since 1988.
Skip a weekday visit if you need more than about two hours, since weekday hours run only 5pm-7pm compared to the 10am-6pm weekend window, and skip this farm if you need confirmed 2026 pricing before you go, since none was found in any source checked.
No specific nearby-farm comparison is available in this record.
Since 1988, with land purchased in 1987 and trees first planted that winter. The farm has been selling Kay County-grown trees since 1992, roughly its fourth decade in business.
No. Visitors are handed a saw at the barn and cut their own Virginia pine or Fraser fir, then staff measure, shake, and bale it.
Weekdays 5pm-7pm, weekends 10am-6pm — a notably shorter weekday window than most farms in this research.
Not published in any source checked. Call (580) 765-9441 to ask before your visit.
Opens November 30, 2026 (closing date not published). Daily. Hours: Mon-Fri 5pm-7pm; weekends 10am-6pm.
Pricing was not published when we last checked.
Yes. It's cut-your-own, and a saw is provided.
6555 W Highway 60, Ponca City, OK 74601, in Kay County. It is one of 1 farms we track in Ponca City Region.
santasforesttreefarm.net · pickyourownchristmastree.org
Checked September 2026.