A large, 487-acre coastal operation with a real activity roster and both field-cut and pre-cut trees, but no 2026 dates were posted and no price is published anywhere in the record.
At 487 acres, this is one of the larger Bay Area operations covered in this research, and the scale shows in what’s on offer: field cutting for trees up to 13 feet, a pre-cut option for anyone who doesn’t want to walk the field, and a full weekend program built around a train ride, Mrs. Claus’s Kitchen, Santa visits, a gift shop, and photo opportunities. The farm also books school trips and private parties, which is a further sign this operates at a scale well beyond a small family lot.
The most practically important thing in this record is that the farm effectively runs two schedules. Tree cutting itself is available daily — weekends 8am-5pm, weekdays 9am-5pm — so if all you want is a tree, a weekday trip works fine and likely means a quieter field. But the train ride, Mrs. Claus’s Kitchen, and the gift shop only operate on weekends, 9am-4pm. If the extras are the reason you’re bringing the kids, a weekday visit will leave you disappointed; plan for a weekend if that program matters to you.
Both price_from and price_note are null in this record — no dollar figure for a tree was found anywhere in the research, farm site included. That’s a genuine gap rather than an oversight on this page’s part, and it means there’s nothing honest to tell you about what a tree will cost beyond the one real cost detail that is confirmed: a 3% surcharge applies to credit card purchases, while cash carries no such fee. If you want to shave a little off your total, bringing cash is a record-backed way to do it, even without knowing the base price of the tree itself.
The farm sits directly on Highway 92, a well-known route for coastal access out of the Bay Area. That’s convenient if you’re already headed that direction, but it also means the road itself can carry meaningful weekend traffic in season, on top of whatever crowd the farm draws internally. Combine that with the farm’s own weekend-only extras and its scale, and a weekend visit here is likely to come with real crowds both on-site and on the drive.
No 2026 season dates were posted at the time of this research — last year’s window was Nov 15 through Dec 23, but that’s 2025 data, not a confirmed repeat. No phone number was found on the fetched page either, which is unusual for an operation this size; check the farm’s site directly for current contact information before planning around it.
Santa’s Tree Farm looks like a genuinely large, well-built-out family destination with real flexibility in tree type and cutting method, but with no published price and no confirmed 2026 dates, budget flexibility and a check of current hours before you commit to the Highway 92 drive.
The 2025 season ran Nov 15-Dec 23; no 2026 dates were posted at the time of this research. Tree cutting runs daily (weekends 8am-5pm, weekdays 9am-5pm), but the train ride, gift shop, and Mrs. Claus's Kitchen operate weekends only, 9am-4pm — so if the extras matter to your visit, go on a weekend.
Not stated directly, but between field cutting (trees up to 13 feet) and the full weekend program of a train ride, Santa visits, and a kitchen, this is built for a longer family outing on weekends.
Not stated directly, but a 487-acre farm running a weekend-only train, Santa visits, and school-trip and private-party bookings is built to handle real volume, and its location directly on Highway 92 — a heavily used coastal route — points toward weekend traffic being a real factor, both on the farm and on the road getting there.
Not described in the record.
Not addressed in the source.
Skip Santa's Tree Farm if you want the train ride, gift shop, or Mrs. Claus's Kitchen and can only visit on a weekday, since those run weekends only, and skip a weekend visit if you want to avoid Highway 92 traffic, since it's a well-known coastal-access corridor that gets busy in season.
No specific nearby-farm comparison is available in this record.
Not published anywhere in the sources reviewed. There's no honest dollar figure to give here — the record's only cost-related detail is a 3% surcharge on credit card purchases.
Both. The record confirms field cutting (trees up to 13 feet) alongside pre-cut options.
No. Tree cutting runs daily, but the train ride, gift shop, and Mrs. Claus's Kitchen operate weekends only, 9am-4pm.
Cedar, Douglas fir, Monterey pine, and Redwood, per the record.
2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. In past seasons it has run: Daily. Check with the farm before driving out.
Pricing was not published when we last checked.
Yes. It's cut-your-own and choose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you), and a saw is provided.
Highway 92, Half Moon Bay, CA, in San Mateo County. It is one of 9 farms we track in Bay Area CA.
We track 9 farms in Bay Area CA, 9 of which let you cut your own tree. The farm has not published a starting price, so it cannot be compared on cost — call before you budget.
What sets it apart locally: it has a gift shop or farm market, which most Bay Area CA farms on our list do not.
One caveat worth repeating: this farm had not published its 2026 dates when we last checked, while 6 of the 9 farms we track in Bay Area CA had. Treat any date you see elsewhere as last year's until the farm confirms it.
There is 1 other farm we track in San Mateo County. All Bay Area CA farms →
Map pin is set to the town centre. Navigate to the street address above, not the pin.
santastreefarm.com
Checked September 2026.