For farms

Skyline Ranch Christmas Tree Farm

📍 22246 Skyline Blvd, La Honda, CA 94020🗓 Opens November 27, 2026 (closing date not published)🏷 From $80

A 57-acre cash-only farm with a simple flat $80 price for any size cut-your-own tree — easy to budget for, but a poor deal if you only want a small tree.

Skyline Ranch Christmas Tree Farm in La Honda, CA

How you get your tree

This farm offers

cut-your-own

Included

tailgate-style picnickingwreath sales

Flat $80 per tree regardless of size for cut-your-own trees; pre-cut Noble firs priced separately.

Cash only. This farm doesn't take cards, based on what we found — bring cash or confirm ahead if that's changed.

Our take

Skyline Ranch is a 57-acre cut-your-own operation with a pricing model that’s refreshingly simple to plan around: a flat $80 for any tree you cut yourself, regardless of size. That’s a real, farm-published number, not an estimate, and it’s one of the more transparent prices found across this research batch — most farms in this area don’t publish a dollar figure at all.

The math on flat pricing

A flat rate cuts both ways depending on what you’re shopping for. If you want a large, full-size tree, $80 flat is likely a better deal than per-foot pricing would be at many competitors. But if you’re after a small tabletop tree, you’re paying the same $80 as someone hauling out a much bigger tree — there’s no discount for going small here. Worth factoring in before you drive out if a compact tree is what you actually want. Pre-cut Noble firs are priced separately from that flat cut-your-own rate, though the record doesn’t give a specific number for those, so ask on arrival if a pre-cut Noble fir is what you’re after.

Cash only, and what that means for your trip

The record is specific here: cash and checks only, with no card payment mentioned anywhere in the sources reviewed. That’s a real trip-planning fact worth flagging plainly rather than discovering at the gate — if your habit is to tap a card for everything, this is one of the farms in this batch where that habit will fail you. Bring cash, and bring enough to cover the $80 tree price plus any extras like netting, which the record notes costs extra (though again, no specific netting fee is given, so ask when you check out).

Dogs and picnicking

Two details set this farm apart from many others in the research batch: leashed dogs are explicitly welcome, and tailgate-style picnicking is called out as something visitors do on-site. Together these suggest a farm that’s comfortable with visitors treating the trip as a relaxed outing rather than a quick transaction — bring the dog, bring a lunch, and plan to spend some time on the property beyond just the minutes it takes to cut a tree.

Species and season timing

Cut-your-own options are Douglas fir, Scotch pine, Sequoia, and Monterey pine — a wider range than many nearby farms, and one that includes Sequoia, not a common Christmas tree species elsewhere in this research. Noble fir is available but pre-cut only. The farm’s own site describes opening on “the Friday after Thanksgiving,” which resolves to November 27, 2026, though no closing date is published, so don’t assume this stays open all the way to Christmas Eve without checking.

The honest bottom line

Skyline Ranch offers one of the clearest, most honest prices in this entire research batch — a flat $80 per cut-your-own tree — but that same flat structure means it’s a better value for a big tree than a small one, and you’ll need cash or a check to pay for it.

Planning your visit

Best time to go

The farm opens the Friday after Thanksgiving, resolved here to 2026-11-27; no closing date is published. Since the price is flat regardless of size, there's no cost incentive to go early or late — the main reason to arrive early on opening weekend would be tree selection, not price.

How long to budget

Not stated directly, but with tailgate-style picnicking mentioned as an on-site activity, this reads as a farm where visitors are welcome to linger, not just cut and leave.

Crowds

Not stated directly in the record.

Parking

Not described in the record.

Strollers and accessibility

Not addressed in the source. As a 57-acre cutting field, expect an unpaved, outdoor terrain as a safe general inference.

What to bring

  • Cash or a checkbook — the record notes cash and checks only, with no card payment mentioned, so don't count on paying by card
  • A leash if you're bringing a dog, since dogs are explicitly welcome but presumably expected to be under control
  • A picnic if you want to make a longer visit of it, since tailgate-style picnicking is called out as something visitors do here

How to spend less here

  • The flat $80 price applies to any size cut-your-own tree, per the record — that's a real number straight from price_from and price_note, not an estimate
  • Because the price doesn't scale with size, this farm is a better value if you want a large tree than if you want a small one; a shopper wanting a small tabletop tree pays the same $80 as someone taking home a full-size tree
  • Netting costs extra according to the record, though no specific netting fee is given, so ask about that add-on when you check out
  • Pre-cut Noble firs are priced separately from the flat $80 cut-your-own rate, per the record, though no specific pre-cut figure is given

Who it suits

Good for

  • Visitors who want a simple, predictable flat price and don't mind paying that same $80 for a small tree as a large one
  • Dog owners, since leashed dogs are explicitly welcome
  • Anyone who wants to picnic on-site as part of the visit

Skip it if

Skip Skyline Ranch if you want a small tabletop tree, since the flat $80 rate applies regardless of size and will cost you the same as a full-size tree, and skip it if you don't have cash on hand, since the record indicates cash and checks only with no card payment mentioned.

Worth pairing with

No specific nearby-farm comparison is available in this record.

Common questions

How much does a tree cost at Skyline Ranch?

A flat $80 for any size cut-your-own tree, regardless of height, per the record. Pre-cut Noble firs are priced separately, though no specific figure for those was found.

Does Skyline Ranch take credit cards?

The record notes cash and checks only, with no card payment mentioned — bring cash to be safe.

Can I bring my dog?

Yes, dogs are explicitly welcome on leash, per the record — a differentiator from many farms that restrict pets.

What tree types are available to cut myself?

Douglas fir, Scotch pine, Sequoia, and Monterey pine are available cut-your-own; Noble fir is offered pre-cut only, per the record.

When is Skyline Ranch Christmas Tree Farm open in 2026?

Opens November 27, 2026 (closing date not published). Daily. Hours: Opens 8:00am on opening day; daily hours not further detailed.

How much does a tree cost at Skyline Ranch Christmas Tree Farm?

Trees start at $80. Flat $80 per tree regardless of size for cut-your-own trees; pre-cut Noble firs priced separately.

Can I cut my own tree at Skyline Ranch Christmas Tree Farm?

Yes. It's cut-your-own, and a saw is provided.

Where is Skyline Ranch Christmas Tree Farm?

22246 Skyline Blvd, La Honda, CA 94020, in San Mateo County. It is one of 9 farms we track in Bay Area CA.

How Skyline Ranch Christmas Tree Farm compares in Bay Area CA

We track 9 farms in Bay Area CA, 9 of which let you cut your own tree. At $80 to start this one sits right on the regional median of $80.

What sets it apart locally: it has wreaths and garland for sale, which most Bay Area CA farms on our list do not.

Other farms near La Honda

There is 1 other farm we track in San Mateo County. All Bay Area CA farms →

Quick facts

SeasonOpens November 27, 2026 (closing date not published)
Days openDaily
HoursOpens 8:00am on opening day; daily hours not further detailed
Starting price$80
Tree typesDouglas fir, Scotch pine, Sequoia, Monterey pine, Noble fir (pre-cut only)
Saw providedYes
CountySan Mateo County
RegionBay Area CA

Sources

skylinetreefarm.com

Checked September 2026.