A family-run per-foot farm with genuinely useful published pricing for both cut-your-own pine and precut fir, though hours were only confirmed for the 2025 season and no 2026 calendar has surfaced yet.
Cut-your-own Virginia Pine roughly $9-10/ft; precut Fraser Fir (from the Blue Mountains) roughly $16-18/ft
Solstice Tree Farm, owned and operated by Bryan and Hannah Winchell, sits on US-80 between Big Sandy and Gladewater – a genuinely convenient location if you’re coming from either Tyler or Longview. What sets this listing apart from most others in this research is that real pricing actually exists here, which makes it possible to do honest cost comparisons instead of just flagging a gap.
Cut-your-own Virginia Pine is priced at roughly $9-10 per foot. That’s a field-grown tree the farm reports pruning and shaping for about five years before it’s ready to sell – a meaningful amount of work reflected in a straightforward per-foot number. Precut Fraser Fir, shipped in from North Carolina’s Blue Mountains, runs about $16-18 per foot instead, roughly 60-80% more per foot than the pine. Using only those real per-foot numbers: a 6-foot cut-your-own pine would run somewhere around $54-60, while a 6-foot precut fir at the higher rate would run closer to $96-108. That’s a meaningful gap for a same-height tree, and it’s driven by two different things – what the tree is (locally grown pine vs. shipped fir) and how it’s obtained (cutting it yourself vs. buying it precut). If keeping cost down matters more than getting a fir specifically, the field pine is the clearer value based on these numbers.
The only schedule found for this farm is Friday and Saturday, 8am to noon – and that comes from a late-November 2025 news mention describing the farm as “already open,” not a page stating a recurring policy. That’s an important distinction: it might reflect this farm’s actual pattern year to year, or it might have been specific to how the 2025 season happened to fall. Either way, a four-hour morning window twice a week is a tight target to plan around, so a quick call before you drive out is worth the few minutes it takes, especially since no 2026 season-start date has been confirmed anywhere checked.
The record lists a hayride, drinks and snacks, and a fire pit as part of the on-site experience – a modest but real set of extras beyond just cutting a tree. None of the sources checked describe payment method (cash vs. card), saw availability, or accessibility.
Solstice is one of the few farms in this dataset where you can actually run the numbers before you go, and the math favors cutting your own pine over buying the shipped fir if cost is a factor – but the tight, possibly outdated hours mean confirming the schedule is the one call you shouldn’t skip.
The only hours found are Fri-Sat 8am-noon, reported as the farm's schedule in late November 2025. No 2026 season_start date is confirmed, so treat this as a starting point to verify, not a locked-in schedule.
Not stated in the record, but a four-hour Friday/Saturday morning window suggests the farm expects a relatively short, focused visit rather than an all-day outing.
Not stated in the record. A four-hour morning window on only two days a week is a tight schedule, which likely means Saturday mornings see the most concentrated demand of the week here.
Not described in the record. This is a working field farm on US-80, so expect an unpaved lot rather than a paved one.
Not addressed in the sources reviewed.
Skip Solstice if you can't make an 8am-noon Friday or Saturday window, since no other hours were found in sources checked, or if you specifically want a Fraser Fir grown regionally rather than shipped in from North Carolina.
Located on US-80 between Big Sandy and Gladewater, convenient to both Tyler and Longview, per the record.
Cut-your-own Virginia Pine runs about $9-10 per foot. Precut Fraser Fir, shipped in from North Carolina's Blue Mountains, runs about $16-18 per foot -- notably more than the pine.
The only hours found are Friday-Saturday 8am-noon, reported for the 2025 season. No 2026 dates have been confirmed, so call ahead.
Yes, for the Virginia Pine grown on-site, which is pruned and shaped for about five years before it's sold. The Fraser Fir is precut only.
No -- the field-grown tree here is Virginia Pine, a species that grows well in East Texas. The Fraser Fir is a separate, shipped-in product, not something grown locally on this farm.
2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. In past seasons it has run: Fri-Sat (as of late Nov 2025). Check with the farm before driving out.
Trees start at $9. Cut-your-own Virginia Pine roughly $9-10/ft; precut Fraser Fir (from the Blue Mountains) roughly $16-18/ft
Yes. It's cut-your-own.
4210 US Highway 80, Big Sandy, TX 75755, in Upshur County. It is one of 11 farms we track in East Texas Piney Woods.
We track 11 farms in East Texas Piney Woods, 8 of which let you cut your own tree. At $9 to start this one sits right on the regional median of $9.
One caveat worth repeating: this farm had not published its 2026 dates when we last checked, while 6 of the 11 farms we track in East Texas Piney Woods had. Treat any date you see elsewhere as last year's until the farm confirms it.
There are 2 other farms we track in Upshur County. All East Texas Piney Woods farms →
solsticetreefarm.com
Checked September 2026.