A large, genuinely flexible farm growing about a dozen tree species with both true cut-your-own and staff-cut options, priced from around $40 in 2025, though the you-cut field closes two hours before the rest of the property.
Trees starting around $40 in the 2025 season per third-party local listings; farm's own current pricing not confirmed directly.
Sorghum Mill stands out among Oklahoma City-area tree farms mainly for scale of choice. Growing or stocking around a dozen species — Fraser fir, Douglas fir, Noble fir, Grand fir, Eastern white pine, Scotch pine, Virginia pine, and Leyland cypress — puts it well ahead of the typical small OK operation, which usually leans on whatever pine or cypress actually thrives in the state’s climate and trucks in one or two fir varieties for people who want that look. If your household has a firm opinion on Fraser fir versus Virginia pine, this is one of the few farms in the area set up to satisfy both people in the same trip.
The farm offers real cut-your-own — walk the field, pick a tree, cut it down yourself — plus a “choose-we-cut” option where staff do the cutting, and pre-cut and living trees for anyone who wants to skip the field entirely. That range matters for mixed groups: someone who wants the full experience and someone who just wants to grab a tree and go can both be accommodated without a debate about which farm to pick.
One detail worth planning around: in the 2025 season, the you-cut field closed at 5pm daily while the retail area stayed open until 7pm. That’s a two-hour gap where the farm is technically “open” but the field itself isn’t. If cutting your own tree is the point of the trip, don’t show up at 6pm expecting to walk the rows — you’d only have access to pre-cut and staff-cut options at that hour. Weekday hours run 1pm-7pm and weekend hours run 10am-7pm, so a Saturday or Sunday morning gives the widest window before the field cutoff.
The $40 figure comes from third-party local listings describing the 2025 season, not from the farm’s own current pricing page, which wasn’t independently confirmed for 2026. Treat it as a rough anchor rather than this year’s number — a lot can change between seasons, and with a dozen species on the property, prices likely vary by type and size the way they do at most multi-species farms. If keeping to a specific budget matters, call ahead and ask for the current per-tree or per-foot breakdown before you commit to a Saturday drive.
Free hot cocoa, cider, coffee, and cookies were part of the 2025 visit, along with wreaths, door boughs, and help loading and wrapping your tree — small but real conveniences that add up if you’d otherwise be buying concessions or fighting with rope in a parking lot. As with most Oklahoma choose-and-cut operations, the best selection in popular sizes tends to disappear first; showing up on the first weekend after Thanksgiving means the widest pick, at the cost of the year’s heaviest crowd.
Sorghum Mill’s real advantage is variety — more species and more ways to get a tree than most competitors in the OKC region — but the pricing and exact 2026 hours aren’t nailed down from the farm’s own materials, so a quick call before you drive is the safe move, especially if you’re planning to arrive later in the day.
The record shows a 2026-11-27 opening (day after Thanksgiving). Weekday afternoons (1pm-7pm) will be calmer than the Saturday-Sunday morning-through-evening hours, and the first weekend after Thanksgiving is typically the busiest of any tree farm's season.
Not stated in the record. With roughly a dozen species on offer plus a choose-and-cut option, budget more time than a single-species lot if you want to compare trees before deciding.
Not stated directly. A farm large enough to grow around a dozen species and offer three ways to get a tree (cut-your-own, staff-cut, pre-cut) reads as a bigger operation, and bigger operations near a metro area like OKC typically draw heavier weekend traffic than small family lots.
Not described in the record.
Not addressed in the source. Most tree-farm fields are unpaved, so assume uneven ground if you or someone in your group needs firmer footing.
Skip Sorghum Mill if you're planning a walk-the-rows cut-your-own visit after 5pm, since the record notes the you-cut field closed an hour before the retail area (5pm vs 7pm) in 2025, and skip it if you need firm 2026 pricing in writing before you go, since the $40 figure comes from third-party 2025 listings rather than the farm's own current page.
No specific nearby-farm comparison is available in this record.
Both are offered. The record confirms true cut-your-own plus a staff-cut 'choose-we-cut' option, along with pre-cut and living trees.
Trees started around $40 in the 2025 season per third-party listings. The farm's own current pricing wasn't directly confirmed, so call ahead if you need an exact number before you go.
In 2025, the you-cut field closed at 5pm daily, an hour before the retail area's 7pm close. Arrive earlier in the day if you want to walk the rows yourself.
The record lists Fraser fir, Douglas fir, Noble fir, Grand fir, Eastern white pine, Scotch pine, Virginia pine, and Leyland cypress — an unusually wide range for the area.
Opens November 27, 2026 (closing date not published). Daily (Mon-Fri afternoons, Sat-Sun mornings) day after Thanksgiving through late December. Hours: Mon-Fri 1pm-7pm, Sat-Sun 10am-7pm; choose-and-cut field closes at 5pm daily (2025 season hours).
Trees start at $40. Trees starting around $40 in the 2025 season per third-party local listings; farm's own current pricing not confirmed directly.
Yes. It's cut-your-own and choose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you).
7121 Midwest Lane, Edmond, OK 73034, in Oklahoma County. It is one of 8 farms we track in Oklahoma City Region.
We track 8 farms in Oklahoma City Region, 8 of which let you cut your own tree. At $40 to start this one sits right on the regional median of $40.
What sets it apart locally: it has a cocoa or cider stand, wreaths and garland for sale, free netting/baling, which most Oklahoma City Region farms on our list do not.
There are 3 other farms we track in Oklahoma County. All Oklahoma City Region farms →
facebook.com
Checked September 2026.