Southern Tree Plantation looks built for a fuller day out than a basic cut lot, but it hasn't published 2026 dates, hours, or pricing, so any plan you make right now is tentative.
Southern Tree Plantation sits in Blairsville, deep enough into North Georgia’s mountain counties that it’s a real drive for anyone coming from Atlanta, but the payoff is trees grown at an elevation that actually suits Fraser and Canaan fir. Those are the two varieties the record confirms here, both premium firs that don’t grow as reliably at the lower elevations closer to the metro area. If a Fraser fir specifically is the point of your trip, this is a farm built around exactly that, rather than the cypress-and-pine mix common at lower-elevation lots.
What separates this farm from a bare cut-your-own field is the activity list: a wagon or train ride, a maze, a fire pit for roasting, a hot cocoa stand, a holiday decor shop, and Santa photos. That’s a bigger build-out than most farms in this research batch, and it suggests the farm is positioning itself as a destination for the whole family, not just a place to grab a tree on the way home. The catch is that the Santa-photo schedule on record — Friday and Saturday of Thanksgiving weekend — comes from a description of a prior season, not a confirmed 2026 date. Treat it as a reasonable starting guess, not a locked-in plan.
As of this research check, Southern Tree Plantation’s own website did not have 2026 season dates, hours, or pricing posted. That’s a meaningful gap for a farm this far from the Atlanta metro core — a wasted trip to Blairsville costs more in time and gas than a wasted trip to a closer lot. There’s also no confirmed phone number in the record, which pushes you toward the farm’s website or social media as the way to check before you go, rather than a quick call. Watching Facebook or Instagram in the weeks before Thanksgiving is a reasonable way to catch an opening-day announcement once it’s posted.
No price figure — not a per-foot rate, not a flat price, not even a typical range — is published anywhere checked for this farm. That means there’s no honest arithmetic to walk through here, and any number offered would be invented. What you can do is ask directly when you call: whether netting, baling, and a stand are included in the tree price or billed separately, and what payment methods are accepted. Those are the same questions worth asking at any unpriced farm, and asking them before you drive out beats finding out in the parking lot.
Blairsville’s distance from the Atlanta metro area is itself a factor the source material flags directly — it’s a longer trip than most of the farms clustered closer to town. That’s not a knock on the farm; a wagon or train ride, a maze, and Fraser fir at source elevation are real reasons to make a longer drive. But it does raise the cost of showing up to find the season hasn’t started yet, or that hours don’t match what you expected. If you’re making this a day trip built around the drive itself, the uncertainty here matters less. If you’re squeezing it into a tight weekend alongside other errands, the unconfirmed details are worth resolving first.
This looks like one of the more built-out family experiences among the North Georgia farms researched here, with real fir grown at the right elevation and enough activities to fill an afternoon, but going in blind on dates, hours, and price is a real risk given how far Blairsville sits from the Atlanta metro area.
Not confirmed for 2026. A prior-season description put Santa photos on the Friday and Saturday of Thanksgiving weekend, which is a reasonable guess at when the season opens, but it is not stated as a 2026 fact here.
Not stated in the record, but a wagon or train ride, a maze, and a fire pit for roasting suggest this is meant as more than a quick tree grab. Budget more time than a bare-bones lot.
Not stated directly. A farm running a train or wagon ride, a maze, and Santa photos is built for a bigger crowd than a plain tree lot, so treat weekends, especially the Thanksgiving-weekend window suggested by prior-season Santa dates, as the likely busy stretch.
Not described in the record.
Not addressed in any source checked.
Skip this one for now if you need confirmed 2026 hours or pricing before committing to the trip, and skip it if you're coming from the Atlanta metro area and want the shortest possible drive, since Blairsville sits well up into the mountains.
Not available in the record checked.
The record confirms it as choose-and-cut. Whether customers do the actual cutting themselves or staff cuts for them is not specified.
Fraser fir and Canaan fir, the two premium firs most associated with the North Georgia mountains.
A wagon or train ride, a maze, a fire pit, a hot cocoa stand, a holiday decor shop, and Santa photos, per the farm's own site and a regional roundup. Santa's schedule was described for a prior season only.
Neither has been published as of this check. Call ahead or watch the farm's social media before planning a trip.
2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. Check with the farm before driving out.
Pricing was not published when we last checked.
Yes. It's choose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you).
2226 Owltown Road, Blairsville, GA 30512, in Union County. It is one of 12 farms we track in North Georgia.
We track 12 farms in North Georgia, 5 of which let you cut your own tree. The farm has not published a starting price, so it cannot be compared on cost — call before you budget.
What sets it apart locally: it has a hayride or sleigh ride, a cocoa or cider stand, a gift shop or farm market, which most North Georgia farms on our list do not.
One caveat worth repeating: this farm had not published its 2026 dates when we last checked, while 1 of the 12 farms we track in North Georgia had. Treat any date you see elsewhere as last year's until the farm confirms it.
There are 2 other farms we track in Union County. All North Georgia farms →
Map pin is set to the town centre. Navigate to the street address above, not the pin.
southerntreeplantation.com · blueridgemountainstravelguide.com
Checked September 2026.