A five-time Grand Champion Christmas Tree of Texas winner with real 2025 pricing, saws provided, and every extra activity bundled into the tree price — one of the best-documented farms in this dataset, though its 2026 opening date isn't confirmed yet.
Virginia Pine $80 (6ft) up to $308 (13ft); Leyland Cypress $84-$230; all prices include shake/bale/load
Spring Creek Growers, in Magnolia northwest of Houston, is one of the more thoroughly documented farms in this dataset — the record comes directly from the farm’s own site rather than a thin aggregator listing, and it shows in how much real detail is available here.
The farm’s own materials describe it as a five-time winner of the “Grand Champion Christmas Tree of Texas” award. That’s not a claim this write-up can independently verify, but it’s the kind of specific, checkable credential that’s worth taking at face value from a farm’s own site rather than dismissing — it suggests a level of established local reputation beyond a typical seasonal operation.
Virginia Pine and Leyland Cypress are the two species grown on-site for cutting, and the farm provides both a hand saw and a measuring pole — so there’s no need to bring your own tools. The 2025 price list, straight from the farm’s own site: Virginia Pine ran $80 for a 6-foot tree up to $308 for a 13-footer, and Leyland Cypress ran $84 to $230 across its size range. Those figures include shaking, baling, and loading, so the number on the price list is the number you pay, not a starting point with fees layered on afterward. That’s real, traceable arithmetic straight from the source — a rare level of pricing transparency in this dataset.
For visitors who’d rather skip the field entirely, Spring Creek also carries a notably broad precut lineup: Fraser fir shipped in from North Carolina, plus both Noble and Nordmann fir from Oregon. That’s three distinct precut species beyond the two grown on-site, which is a wider selection than most Texas cut-your-own farms bother stocking — useful if different members of a household have different tree preferences.
What sets this farm apart from a straightforward tree lot is what’s bundled into the price: barnyard animals, rubber duck races, a treehouse, hayrides, campfires, and Santa visits are all included with the tree purchase rather than ticketed as separate attractions. Compared to a farm that charges per-activity on top of the tree, that’s a real, structural cost advantage worth factoring into a decision between farms — you’re not budgeting for extras on arrival.
The single gap in an otherwise well-documented record: the farm’s 2025 season opened November 21, which landed before Thanksgiving that year (Nov 27, 2025). That’s earlier than the more typical “weekend after Thanksgiving” start most farms in this dataset follow, so it would be a mistake to assume the 2026 season opens on an equivalent date without checking. Hours, when posted, ran Saturday 9am-5:30pm, Sunday 10am-5:30pm, Tuesday through Friday 2pm-5:30pm, with Mondays closed except for one specific date — another detail worth reconfirming directly for 2026 rather than assuming it repeats exactly.
Between the transparent, itemized pricing, the tools provided, the wide tree selection, and the bundled activities, Spring Creek Growers is one of the stronger-documented picks in the Greater Houston area — just don’t assume its opening date follows the regional post-Thanksgiving norm without checking first.
The farm's own site gave a 2025 opening day of November 21, which fell before Thanksgiving that year (Nov 27) — earlier than the more typical post-Thanksgiving start most farms in this dataset use. That pattern isn't assumed to repeat exactly for 2026, so the safest plan is to check the farm's site directly for its 2026 calendar rather than assuming an equivalent late-November date.
Not stated directly, but with cut-your-own selection, a treehouse, rubber duck races, barnyard animals, hayrides, and campfires all on offer, this reads like a farm built for a longer visit than a quick in-and-out tree pickup — plan at least an hour or two if you want to take advantage of what's included.
Not stated directly in the record, but a farm with this much on-site activity (hayrides, campfires, a treehouse) bundled into the tree price is a plausible draw for family groups on weekends specifically, which tends to concentrate crowds compared to a farm offering tree sales alone.
Not described in the record.
Not addressed in the sources reviewed.
Skip Spring Creek Growers if you're visiting specifically in the days right after Thanksgiving expecting the season to have just opened — the farm's 2025 season actually started before Thanksgiving, so the typical post-Thanksiving-weekend assumption may not hold here. Confirm the 2026 calendar directly first.
Not available in the record.
For the 2025 season, cut-your-own Virginia Pine ran from $80 (6-foot) up to $308 (13-foot), and Leyland Cypress ran from $84 to $230 depending on size, per the farm's own posted price list. Those prices include shaking, baling, and loading.
No — the record states the farm provides both a hand saw and a measuring pole for cutting your own Virginia Pine or Leyland Cypress.
No, per the record — barnyard animals, rubber duck races, a treehouse, hayrides, and campfires are all included in the price of the tree rather than charged separately.
Yes — the farm carries a notably wide precut lineup for a Texas farm: Fraser fir shipped from North Carolina, and both Noble and Nordmann fir shipped from Oregon, alongside its own field-grown Virginia Pine and Leyland Cypress.
Not confirmed as of this writing. The farm's 2025 season opened November 21 — before that year's Thanksgiving (Nov 27) — which is earlier than the typical post-Thanksgiving pattern most farms in this dataset follow, so the 2026 date shouldn't be assumed to land on an equivalent day. Check the farm's own site directly closer to the season.
2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. In past seasons it has run: Daily except Monday (per 2025 season). Check with the farm before driving out.
Trees start at $80. Virginia Pine $80 (6ft) up to $308 (13ft); Leyland Cypress $84-$230; all prices include shake/bale/load
Yes. It's cut-your-own, and a saw is provided.
23803 Decker Prairie-Rosehill Rd, Magnolia, TX 77355, in Montgomery County. It is one of 6 farms we track in Greater Houston.
We track 6 farms in Greater Houston, 6 of which let you cut your own tree. At $80 to start this one sits right on the regional median of $80, undercutting 1 of the 3 priced farms we track here.
One caveat worth repeating: this farm had not published its 2026 dates when we last checked, while 2 of the 6 farms we track in Greater Houston had. Treat any date you see elsewhere as last year's until the farm confirms it.
There are 7 other farms we track in Montgomery County. All Greater Houston farms →
springcreekgrowers.com
Checked September 2026.