Steele's is one of the more established choose-and-cut farms in this batch — 40+ years in business with 1,500+ trees across six varieties — but no pricing of any kind is published anywhere, and payment method itself is disputed across sources.
Steele’s has been running as a choose-and-cut operation for over 40 years, according to Louisiana’s state agritourism directory, and a December 2025 Facebook post describes it as a fourth-generation family business — which puts it among the more established farms in this batch rather than a newer or smaller operation.
The record lists six tree varieties: Leyland Cypress, Carolina Sapphire, Eastern Red Cedar, Virginia Pine, Fraser Fir, and White Pine. Research notes describe the bulk of the farm’s 1,500+ trees, ranging 5 to 18 feet, as mostly Leyland Cypress, Carolina Sapphire, and a red-cedar cultivar noted elsewhere as “Berki Cedar” — likely the Eastern Red Cedar “Burkii” variety. If you’re specifically hoping for a traditional Fraser Fir, it’s on the list, but the emphasis in the underlying research points toward the cypress and cedar side of the lot being the larger share.
This is worth reading closely before you plan a trip: weekdays run a narrow 2-5pm window, Saturday runs 10am until dark, and Sunday runs 1pm until dark. That’s three different schedules, not one fixed set of hours, so check which day you’re actually going on rather than assuming the weekend hours apply across the board.
Staff will shake and bale any tree for free, which is a genuine value-add compared with farms that charge separately for that service, though this record doesn’t have another farm’s baling fee to compare it against directly. You can bring your own saw or use one the farm provides. Tractor/hayrides run on weekends, alongside a gift shop, for visitors who want more than a quick cut-and-leave trip.
Here’s the honest gap: an older aggregator listing says Steele’s accepts cash, check, and cards, while a more recent roundup source says no credit or debit cards are taken at all. These two claims can’t both be current, and the record can’t resolve which one is. Given that direct conflict, cash is the safe default to bring regardless of what you’re hoping to pay with — don’t assume a card will work based on either single source.
No price figure — per foot, flat rate, or otherwise — turned up in any source checked for this farm. That means there’s genuinely nothing to calculate here: no way to say what an 8-foot Leyland Cypress will run you, or whether flocking or a stand costs extra. If exact pricing matters to your budget before you drive out, calling 985-848-5133 (or the alternate 985-966-1041 that also appears in older records) is the only way to get a real number.
Steele’s offers real longevity, real variety, and a free baling service that’s a genuine plus, but the disputed payment policy and total absence of published pricing mean you’re walking in without two pieces of information most visitors would want locked down first — bring cash and call ahead if the exact cost matters to you.
Season opens 2026-11-26 (Thanksgiving Day, per the farm's own relative description). Hours differ sharply by day: weekdays are a narrow 2-5pm window, Saturday runs 10am until dark, and Sunday runs 1pm until dark. A weekday-afternoon visit, if your schedule allows it, avoids the longer weekend hours when hayrides are also running and drawing more visitors.
Not stated directly, but with over 1,500 trees across six varieties spread 5 to 18 feet, plus weekend tractor/hayrides, a gift shop, and free shake-and-bale service, this supports a longer visit than a quick grab-and-go, especially on a weekend.
Not stated in the record. Weekend hayrides and a full six-variety selection are the kind of draw that tends to bring more visitors than a bare-bones lot, but that's an inference, not a documented fact.
Not described in the record.
Not addressed in any source checked.
Skip Steele's if you need to pay by card and can't confirm that in advance, since sources directly conflict on whether cards are accepted here, and skip it if you need firm pricing before you go, since no dollar figures are published anywhere for this farm.
Not available in the record checked.
2026-11-26 (Thanksgiving Day), per the farm's own relative description of opening on Thanksgiving. Closing date isn't specified — the farm runs until sold out.
Six are listed: Leyland Cypress, Carolina Sapphire, Eastern Red Cedar, Virginia Pine, Fraser Fir, and White Pine, though research notes describe the bulk of the 1,500+ trees on the farm as Leyland Cypress, Carolina Sapphire, and a red-cedar cultivar.
Unclear. One source says cash, check, and cards are accepted; a more recent roundup says no cards are taken. Call ahead to confirm before assuming either way.
Tractor/hayrides run on weekends per the record, alongside a gift shop and free tree shaking and baling.
Opens November 26, 2026 (closing date not published). Weekdays, Saturday, Sunday during season; runs until sold out. Hours: Weekdays 2-5pm; Saturday 10am-dark; Sunday 1pm-dark.
Pricing was not published when we last checked.
Yes. It's cut-your-own and choose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you), and a saw is provided.
56459 Dollar Rd, Angie, LA 70426, in Washington Parish. It is one of 5 farms we track in Florida Parishes LA.
We track 5 farms in Florida Parishes LA, 5 of which let you cut your own tree. The farm has not published a starting price, so it cannot be compared on cost — call before you budget.
What sets it apart locally: it has a hayride or sleigh ride, free netting/baling, a gift shop or farm market, which most Florida Parishes LA farms on our list do not.
There is 1 other farm we track in Washington Parish. All Florida Parishes LA farms →
steeleschristmastreefarm.com · facebook.com · pickyourownchristmastree.org
Checked September 2026.