A small, low-key Layton listing quoting a flat $30 tree price, but the only source found appears to reuse content dating back to a "day after Thanksgiving 2011" reference, and the farm doesn't appear on the more current USU Extension grower list — treat this as possibly no longer operating until you confirm by phone.
A KSL Utah-grown-trees roundup quoted a flat $30 price ("you cut or we cut"); this figure's vintage is uncertain and may be several years old, not confirmed for 2026.
Stevens Tree Farm sits across the street from Central Davis Junior High School in Layton, according to the one source that describes it in any detail — a KSL roundup of Utah-grown Christmas tree sellers. That source paints a picture of a small, low-key operation: Colorado blue spruce running roughly 5 to 10 feet, with a few taller trees available, sold at a flat $30 regardless of size, with the buyer’s choice of cutting it themselves or having farm staff cut it, and hand saws available to borrow for anyone who wants to do it themselves.
That description would make Stevens one of the more appealing budget options in this entire research batch — a flat, simple price well below the $60-plus starting points quoted at other Davis County farms. But there’s a real problem with relying on it: the source material contains internal text referencing a “day after Thanksgiving 2011” opening, which strongly suggests the article recycles old content rather than being freshly verified each season. Compounding that, this farm doesn’t turn up anywhere in Utah State University Extension’s more current grower directory, which was used to check most other farms in this file. Neither of those facts proves the farm has closed, but together they’re a real warning sign that this listing may be stale.
The honest approach here isn’t to drop the listing entirely — it wasn’t confirmed closed, either, and small family operations sometimes simply don’t make it onto every directory. But it also isn’t to present the $30 price and Friday/Saturday hours as something you can rely on. If Stevens Tree Farm interests you, the right move is a phone call to 801-544-7628 well before you plan a trip, treating a “yes, we’re open” as genuinely useful information rather than an assumption.
If this farm is still operating as described, it offers one of the simplest, lowest-cost setups in this file — a flat $30 price and the choice of cutting it yourself or letting staff handle it. But the age of the only available source and its absence from more current listings mean this is the single riskiest farm in this research batch to plan around without confirming first.
Not confirmed for any current year. The only source found lists Fridays and Saturdays, or by appointment, from an older guide whose current accuracy isn't verified.
Not stated in the record.
Not stated in the record.
Not described in the record.
Not addressed in the source.
Skip Stevens Tree Farm unless you call ahead and confirm it's still operating, since the only source found for this listing appears to reuse old content referencing a "day after Thanksgiving 2011" opening, and it doesn't appear on the more current USU Extension grower directory used to check other farms in this file.
Meldrum Christmas Tree Farm, also in Layton (Davis County), is a better-documented option in this same research batch, though it carries its own operating-status uncertainty for 2026 and is worth calling as well.
Not confirmed. The only source found for this listing appears to be old content, and the farm doesn't show up on the more current USU Extension grower list used to check other farms in this research. Call 801-544-7628 before planning a visit.
A flat $30, per the one source found — but that figure traces back to content referencing a "day after Thanksgiving 2011" opening and is not confirmed as current pricing.
The source describes it as the customer's choice — cut it yourself, with hand saws available to borrow, or have farm staff cut it for you.
Colorado blue spruce, described as running roughly 5 to 10 feet with a few taller, per the one source found.
2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. In past seasons it has run: Fridays and Saturdays, or by appointment (per an older KSL guide; current status unconfirmed). Check with the farm before driving out.
Trees start at $30. A KSL Utah-grown-trees roundup quoted a flat $30 price ("you cut or we cut"); this figure's vintage is uncertain and may be several years old, not confirmed for 2026.
Yes. It's cut-your-own and choose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you), and a saw is provided.
640 North Church Street, Layton, UT, in Davis County. It is one of 8 farms we track in Wasatch Front UT.
We track 8 farms in Wasatch Front UT, 5 of which let you cut your own tree. At $30 to start this one sits below the regional median of $60, undercutting 1 of the 2 priced farms we track here.
One caveat worth repeating: this farm had not published its 2026 dates when we last checked, while 1 of the 8 farms we track in Wasatch Front UT had. Treat any date you see elsewhere as last year's until the farm confirms it.
There are 3 other farms we track in Davis County. All Wasatch Front UT farms →
Checked September 2026.