A no-dogs, organized operation sitting between Lawrence and Topeka on US-40, participating in Trees for Troops, though its own website hadn't been updated with current-season dates at the time of research.
Not published on farm website.
Strawberry Hill sits in a useful spot geographically — one mile west of Lawrence and 17 miles east of Topeka on US-40, making it a reasonable stop for visitors from either metro area rather than requiring a dedicated trip to one specific city. The record describes it as a somewhat more organized operation than some of the smaller family lots in this research batch, evidenced by a couple of specific, sourced details: participation in the Trees for Troops donation program, and professional photography available by advance appointment on weekdays for a fee.
One detail stands out because it’s stated so plainly on the farm’s own site: dogs must be left at home. That’s worth flagging directly, since it cuts against what several competing farms in this same region advertise — dog-friendly visits are common enough at other Kansas tree farms that assuming it’s fine everywhere would be a mistake here specifically.
The most significant honest gap with Strawberry Hill is timing. At the point this research was conducted, the farm’s own website still displayed 2024 season dates — November 23 through December 23, 2024, or until sold out — rather than anything updated for a more current year. That means no 2025 or 2026 dates could be confirmed from the farm’s own source, and none is given here as a result. The historical pattern (opening around the Saturday before Thanksgiving and running about a month, or until trees sell out) is useful as a general sense of how this farm typically operates, but it should be treated as indicative only, not as this year’s actual calendar. A phone call to 785-331-4422 or a check of the farm’s Facebook page is the only reliable way to know current dates before driving out.
Choose-and-cut and cut-your-own trees are both available, drawn from Scotch pine, Austrian pine, and White pine grown on site, with saws provided. Precut Fraser fir is also sold for visitors who want a fuller fir look without walking the field. Beyond the trees, the farm offers wreaths, crafts, and a gift shop.
No dollar figure for tree pricing is published on the farm’s own site or anywhere else checked. That leaves genuinely nothing to offer here for planning a specific budget — the honest approach is to ask when you arrive, and to expect the professional photography add-on to be a separate cost if you choose to book it, since fees are mentioned specifically for that service in the record.
Strawberry Hill’s location between Lawrence and Topeka, its Trees for Troops participation, and its no-dogs policy are all clear, sourced details worth knowing before you go. But because the farm’s own website hadn’t caught up with a current season’s dates at the time of this research, don’t treat any specific date as confirmed until you’ve called or checked social media directly.
Not confirmed for 2026. The farm's own site still displays 2024 season dates (Nov 23-Dec 23, 2024, or until sold out) as of this research, so no reliable 2026 window is available. Historically the season has opened around the Saturday before Thanksgiving and run about a month or until sold out.
Not stated directly, but professional photography by appointment (fees apply, weekdays) suggests some visitors treat this as more than a quick stop.
Not stated directly, but a farm organized enough to offer professional photography by appointment and participate in a national donation program (Trees for Troops) suggests a more structured, possibly busier operation than a small unadvertised family lot.
Not described in the record.
Not addressed in the source.
Skip Strawberry Hill if you were planning to bring a dog, since the farm's own website explicitly states dogs must be left at home, and skip planning around a specific 2026 date until you've confirmed it, since the site still showed 2024 dates at the time of this research.
No specific nearby-farm comparison is available in this record.
No. The farm's own website explicitly states dogs must be left at home, according to the record — a useful heads-up since several competing farms in this area advertise being dog-friendly.
Not confirmed. The farm's website still displayed 2024 dates (Nov 23-Dec 23, 2024, or until sold out) at the time of this research, so no reliable 2026 window is available. Confirm by phone or Facebook before visiting.
Yes. The record confirms Strawberry Hill participates in the Trees for Troops donation program.
Yes, by advance appointment only, on weekdays, with fees applying, according to the record.
2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. In past seasons it has run: Daily during season (reduced weekday hours). Check with the farm before driving out.
Pricing was not published when we last checked. Not published on farm website.
Yes. It's cut-your-own and choose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you), and a saw is provided.
794 US-40, Lawrence, KS 66049, in Douglas County. It is one of 4 farms we track in Northeast Kansas.
We track 4 farms in Northeast Kansas, 3 of which let you cut your own tree. The farm has not published a starting price, so it cannot be compared on cost — call before you budget.
What sets it apart locally: it has wreaths and garland for sale, which most Northeast Kansas farms on our list do not.
One caveat worth repeating: this farm had not published its 2026 dates when we last checked, while 3 of the 4 farms we track in Northeast Kansas had. Treat any date you see elsewhere as last year's until the farm confirms it.
There are 4 other farms we track in Douglas County. All Northeast Kansas farms →
Map pin is set to the town centre. Navigate to the street address above, not the pin.
strawberryhillchristmas.com · pickyourownchristmastree.org
Checked September 2026.