For farms

Sunset Hill Tree Farm

📍 3400 County Road 206, Alvarado, TX 76009🗓 Opens November 27, 2026 (closing date not published)🏷 Pricing TBD

An established Johnson County farm (since 1997) offering both cut-your-own and precut trees, but it's weekend-only and closes once trees sell out rather than on a fixed date -- and no tree pricing is published.

Aerial view of Sunset Hill Tree Farm in Alvarado, TX

How you get your tree

This farm offers

cut-your-ownpre-cut trees only

Costs extra

fall pumpkin patch (separate October season, $8/person admission)

Our take

Sunset Hill Tree Farm has been operating in Johnson County since 1997, which gives it more of a track record than many of the smaller, newer-sounding listings in this research. It offers a genuinely flexible choice for visitors: cut your own tree in the field, or buy one already cut, across two species – Fraser Fir and Virginia Pine.

The schedule is weekends-only, and that’s by design

Unlike farms that run daily or expand their hours as the season goes on, Sunset Hill opens specifically for the Friday, Saturday, and Sunday immediately following Thanksgiving – 2026 dates of November 27 through 29 – and then continues on weekends only after that, running 9am to 5pm. If weekday access to a tree farm matters to your schedule, this isn’t the farm that will accommodate it; the entire operation is built around weekend visits.

Sold out means closed, not “call back next week”

The more important scheduling detail is that the farm doesn’t run on a fixed calendar through a set end date the way some competitors do. Instead, it closes for the season once its tree inventory sells out. That’s a meaningful distinction for anyone tempted to put off a tree-buying trip until closer to Christmas: there’s a real chance the farm will have already sold through its stock by then, particularly in popular sizes. The opening weekend right after Thanksgiving is the safest bet for full selection, even though it’s also likely to be the busiest weekend of the season.

No pricing for the actual product you’re there for

Despite the farm’s established history, no Christmas tree pricing – per-foot or flat-rate – was found in any source checked. The one dollar figure that is available in the record belongs to a different product entirely: the same property’s fall pumpkin patch charges $8 per person for general admission, with children age 3 and under free. That’s real, useful information if you’re also considering an October visit, but it tells you nothing about what a Christmas tree will cost, so don’t let that figure anchor your expectations for the tree-buying trip.

The honest bottom line

Sunset Hill offers a real choice of tree species and cutting methods backed by nearly three decades of operation, but the combination of weekend-only hours, a sell-until-gone closing policy, and no published tree pricing means the safest plan is an early-season weekend visit with your budget expectations set by a phone call rather than any number in this record.

Planning your visit

Best time to go

The farm opens the Friday, Saturday, and Sunday after Thanksgiving (2026: Nov 27-29), 9am-5pm, then continues weekends only until sold out. Earlier weekends in the run give better odds of selection than late December.

How long to budget

Not stated in the record.

Crowds

Not stated in the record. A farm that opens for a defined weekend right after Thanksgiving and then continues weekends-only until sold out likely sees its heaviest traffic on that opening weekend, when selection is best and everyone knows the season has just started.

Parking

Not described in the record.

Strollers and accessibility

Not addressed in the sources reviewed.

What to bring

  • A backup payment method, since cash-only status isn't confirmed either way
  • A willingness to visit earlier in the season rather than later, given the sell-until-gone model
  • A question about pricing to ask on arrival, since no tree cost is published anywhere checked

How to spend less here

  • No price_from or price_note exists in the record for Christmas trees, so no dollar figure can be given here -- ask before committing to either the cut-your-own or precut option
  • The same property's separate fall pumpkin patch charges $8 per person, with kids age 3 and under free, per the record -- a real number, though it applies to the October pumpkin season, not the Christmas tree visit

Who it suits

Good for

  • Visitors who want the choice between cutting a Fraser Fir or Virginia Pine themselves or buying one precut
  • Anyone who can only visit on weekends, since that's the farm's only operating schedule anyway
  • Families who might also want to return in October for the same property's separate pumpkin patch

Skip it if

Skip Sunset Hill if you're planning a mid-to-late-December visit and need guaranteed tree availability, since the farm closes once it sells out rather than on a fixed calendar date, and skip it if weekday access matters, since it's weekends-only.

Worth pairing with

No specific nearby-farm comparison is available in this record. The farm's own property also runs a fall pumpkin patch as a separate October season.

Common questions

Can I cut my own tree at Sunset Hill?

Yes -- both cut-your-own and precut options are available, across Fraser Fir and Virginia Pine.

What are the hours?

9am-5pm, opening the Friday, Saturday, and Sunday after Thanksgiving (2026: Nov 27-29), then continuing weekends only until the farm sells out of trees.

How much does a tree cost?

Not stated in the record. No tree pricing was found in sources checked. The farm's separate October pumpkin patch charges $8/person, but that figure doesn't apply to Christmas trees.

Will trees still be available if I visit close to Christmas?

Not guaranteed. The farm closes for the season once it sells out of trees rather than on a fixed date, so late-season availability depends on how quickly earlier visitors buy through the inventory.

When is Sunset Hill Tree Farm open in 2026?

Opens November 27, 2026 (closing date not published). Weekends. Hours: 9am-5pm, Friday/Saturday/Sunday after Thanksgiving, then every weekend until sold out.

How much does a tree cost at Sunset Hill Tree Farm?

Pricing was not published when we last checked.

Can I cut my own tree at Sunset Hill Tree Farm?

No — this farm sells pre-cut trees it grew itself; you don't cut your own here.

Where is Sunset Hill Tree Farm?

3400 County Road 206, Alvarado, TX 76009, in Johnson County. It is one of 4 farms we track in Dallas-Fort Worth.

How Sunset Hill Tree Farm compares in Dallas-Fort Worth

We track 4 farms in Dallas-Fort Worth, 4 of which let you cut your own tree. The farm has not published a starting price, so it cannot be compared on cost — call before you budget.

Other farms near Alvarado

There are 8 other farms we track in Johnson County. All Dallas-Fort Worth farms →

Quick facts

SeasonOpens November 27, 2026 (closing date not published)
Days openWeekends
Hours9am-5pm, Friday/Saturday/Sunday after Thanksgiving, then every weekend until sold out
Starting priceNot published
Tree typesFraser Fir, Virginia Pine
CountyJohnson County
RegionDallas-Fort Worth

Sources

sunsethilltreefarm.co

Checked September 2026.