For farms

Talbott Trees

📍 14143 Christmas Tree Road, Green Valley, IL 61534🗓 Opens November 27, 2026 (closing date not published)🏷 Pricing TBD

A 40-acre, cash-only cut-your-own farm near Green Valley opening Nov 27, 2026, with saws provided, weekend tractor-trailer rides, and pre-cut trees up to 13 feet, though no closing date or exact price is published.

Aerial view of Talbott Trees in Green Valley, IL

How you get your tree

This farm offers

cut-your-own

Included

tractor-trailer rides (weekends)wreaths for salegarland/ropingswags

No pricing was published on the farm's own website; cash or check only is confirmed.

Cash only. This farm doesn't take cards, based on what we found — bring cash or confirm ahead if that's changed.

Our take

Talbott Trees, on Christmas Tree Road in Green Valley, works a genuinely large 40-acre property, per its own site, growing five species: Scotch pine, white pine, Fraser fir, Douglas fir, and balsam fir. That range covers both classic pines and firs, giving real choice in shape, needle texture, and scent rather than a single-species operation.

A confirmed opening, an unconfirmed close

The farm’s own website states directly that it opens “the day after Thanksgiving,” which resolves cleanly to November 27 for the 2026 season, with daily hours of 9am to 5pm. What isn’t stated anywhere in the record is a specific closing date. That’s worth taking seriously if you tend to shop for a tree later in December — without a published end date, there’s a real chance the farm could close earlier than you’d assume, and the responsible move is a phone call to confirm it’s still open before making the trip in late December.

Cutting your own, or buying bigger

Saws are furnished on-site for cutting your own tree from the 40-acre field, so there’s no need to bring your own gear. For anyone who wants a tree larger than what’s practical to cut and haul yourself, the farm also stocks pre-cut trees up to 13 feet — notably taller than the sizes most cut-your-own visitors would realistically manage on their own.

Weekend tractor-trailer rides

Tractor-trailer rides are offered specifically on weekends, per the record, adding a real activity beyond just selecting and cutting a tree. That weekend-only availability is worth planning around if the ride itself matters to your visit — a weekday trip wouldn’t include it.

Cash or check only

Payment here is cash or check only, with no card option mentioned in the record. That’s a specific thing to plan for, especially since no pricing figure is published either — you’re going in without a number and without the option to fall back on a card if you come up short in cash.

The honest bottom line

Talbott’s genuine scale, five-species selection, and the option of a larger pre-cut tree make it a substantial choice among Green Valley-area farms, but the combination of no published pricing, cash-only payment, and no confirmed closing date means calling ahead is worthwhile both for budgeting and for timing a visit later in the season.

Planning your visit

Best time to go

The farm's own site confirms it opens the day after Thanksgiving, resolving to Nov 27, 2026, with daily 9am-5pm hours through the season. No specific closing date was given, so late-December visitors should call to confirm the farm is still open before driving out.

How long to budget

Not stated as a number, but with tractor-trailer rides offered on weekends and a genuinely large 40-acre property with five species, plan for more than a quick tree grab, especially on a weekend.

Crowds

Not stated directly, but tractor-trailer rides offered specifically on weekends suggest a heavier weekend draw than weekdays, since that's the day the extra activity is available.

Parking

Not described in the record.

Strollers and accessibility

Not addressed in the source.

What to bring

  • Cash or a check — the farm is cash/check only, per its own site
  • No saw needed, since one is furnished, per the record
  • A phone call before a late-December visit, since no specific closing date was published

How to spend less here

  • No pricing was published on the farm's own website; cash or check only is confirmed, so no dollar figure can be given here
  • If a larger tree matters more than cutting it yourself, the pre-cut option (up to 13 feet) may be worth comparing to the field-cut trees once pricing is confirmed by phone

Who it suits

Good for

  • Visitors who want a choice of five species — Scotch pine, white pine, Fraser fir, Douglas fir, and balsam fir — across a genuinely large 40-acre property
  • Weekend visitors who want tractor-trailer rides as part of the trip
  • Anyone wanting a larger pre-cut tree (up to 13 feet) than they'd want to cut and carry themselves

Skip it if

Skip Talbott's if you can't pay cash or check, since the farm doesn't take cards, and call ahead before a late-December visit, since no specific season-end date was found and the farm could close before Christmas.

Worth pairing with

No specific nearby-farm comparison is available in this record.

Common questions

How much does a tree cost at Talbott's?

No pricing was published on the farm's own website at the time of this research. Cash or check only is confirmed as the accepted payment method.

When does the season start and end?

The farm opens the day after Thanksgiving, resolving to Nov 27, 2026, with daily 9am-5pm hours. No specific closing date was given, so confirm by phone before a late-December visit.

Do I need to bring my own saw?

No. Saws are furnished for cutting, per the farm's own site.

Is there a pre-cut option if I don't want to cut my own?

Yes. The farm stocks pre-cut trees up to 13 feet, larger than what most visitors would easily cut and carry themselves.

When is Talbott Trees open in 2026?

Opens November 27, 2026 (closing date not published). Daily. Hours: 9:00am–5:00pm.

How much does a tree cost at Talbott Trees?

Pricing was not published when we last checked. No pricing was published on the farm's own website; cash or check only is confirmed.

Can I cut my own tree at Talbott Trees?

Yes. It's cut-your-own, and a saw is provided.

Where is Talbott Trees?

14143 Christmas Tree Road, Green Valley, IL 61534, in Tazewell County. It is one of 7 farms we track in Central Illinois.

How Talbott Trees compares in Central Illinois

We track 7 farms in Central Illinois, 5 of which let you cut your own tree. The farm has not published a starting price, so it cannot be compared on cost — call before you budget.

Other farms near Green Valley

Quick facts

SeasonOpens November 27, 2026 (closing date not published)
Days openDaily
Hours9:00am–5:00pm
Starting priceNot published
Tree typesScotch pine, White pine, Fraser fir, Douglas fir, Balsam fir
Saw providedYes
CountyTazewell County
RegionCentral Illinois

Directions

Open in Google Maps ↗

Map pin is set to the town centre. Navigate to the street address above, not the pin.

Sources

talbotttrees.com

Checked September 2026.