A 165-acre, dual-purpose blueberry-and-Christmas-tree farm near Wilmington with a clear $65-per-tree price for 2025, though 2026 dates weren't posted at the time of research.
$65 per tree for the 2025 choose-and-cut season, with a $10 additional charge for baling/shaking. Per the farm's own website and a Chicago Parent aggregator listing matching species/price.
Tammen Treeberry Farm, southeast of Wilmington off Route 113, runs a dual-purpose operation — pick-your-own blueberries in July and choose-and-cut Christmas trees starting around Thanksgiving weekend. That combination, on a farm reported at roughly 165 acres by one aggregator, suggests real scale and a working farm identity rather than a purely seasonal pop-up tree lot.
Unlike several farms in this research where pricing is vague or entirely unpublished, Tammen’s 2025 price is specific and cross-checked across two sources: $65 per tree for choose-and-cut, with a separate $10 charge for shaking and baling. Add those together and a tree comes to $75 total, using only the numbers stated in the record — worth knowing since some farms bundle baling into the base price and others, like this one, charge for it separately. The species selection is genuinely varied: Scotch pine, white pine, Douglas fir, Fraser fir, and Canaan fir, giving a real choice between pines and firs rather than just one or two options.
One detail stands out clearly in the source material: the farm’s own site noted that its 2025 tree season had already closed by December 14. That’s a meaningfully shorter window than many Illinois farms that run through mid-or-late December, and it means the usual advice to wait a couple of weeks past Thanksgiving to dodge crowds doesn’t apply well here — waiting too long risks missing the season entirely. If the 2026 season follows the same pattern, the practical window is likely the two to three weekends immediately following Thanksgiving.
The farm’s own site also noted at least one field restriction during the 2025 opening weekend, meaning not every part of the property was necessarily open for cutting on day one. That’s a useful thing to ask about on arrival if you have a specific species or size in mind — availability by variety may vary, especially early in the season when the most popular sections get cut first.
No information turned up on saws (bring your own or borrowed on-site), payment methods, or add-on activities like hayrides or hot cocoa. That’s a real gap for a farm this size, and it’s worth a direct question when you call to confirm 2026 dates.
Tammen’s combination of a specific, cross-checked price and a genuinely varied species list makes it easier to budget for than many neighboring farms, but the short season means this is a farm to visit early rather than save for later — and the unconfirmed 2026 dates mean a call ahead is still the responsible first step.
Choose-and-cut tree sales reportedly start the Friday after Thanksgiving, per the farm's own site, though 2026 dates weren't confirmed. The farm's site noted its 2025 season had already closed by Dec 14, suggesting a season that runs roughly two to three weeks rather than through Christmas.
Not stated directly, but on a farm large enough (165 acres per one aggregator) to also run a summer u-pick blueberry operation, expect real acreage to walk if you want to compare species.
Not stated directly, but a season this short — closed by Dec 14 in 2025 — concentrates demand into the first two or three weekends after Thanksgiving, making those the most likely times for a wait.
Not described in the record.
Not addressed in the source.
Skip a mid-to-late-December visit, since the farm's own site noted its 2025 tree season had already closed by Dec 14, and skip assuming full-field availability on opening weekend, since the farm noted field restrictions in at least one area during the 2025 opening.
No specific nearby-farm comparison is available in this record.
$65 per tree for the 2025 choose-and-cut season, plus a $10 charge for baling and shaking, per the farm's own site.
Scotch pine, white pine, Douglas fir, Fraser fir, and Canaan fir, per the record.
Choose-and-cut sales reportedly start the Friday after Thanksgiving. The farm's own site noted the 2025 season had already closed by Dec 14, so it runs roughly two to three weeks rather than through Christmas. 2026 dates weren't posted at the time of this research.
Yes — it's also known locally for pick-your-own blueberries in July, on a farm reported at around 165 acres.
2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. Check with the farm before driving out.
Trees start at $65. $65 per tree for the 2025 choose-and-cut season, with a $10 additional charge for baling/shaking. Per the farm's own website and a Chicago Parent aggregator listing matching species/price.
Yes. It's cut-your-own.
1 mile east of Braidwood on Route 113, then 3.5 miles south on Essex Road, Wilmington, IL 60481, in Will County. It is one of 10 farms we track in Chicago Suburbs.
We track 10 farms in Chicago Suburbs, 9 of which let you cut your own tree. At $65 to start this one sits below the regional median of $85, undercutting 6 of the 8 priced farms we track here.
One caveat worth repeating: this farm had not published its 2026 dates when we last checked, while 2 of the 10 farms we track in Chicago Suburbs had. Treat any date you see elsewhere as last year's until the farm confirms it.
There are 2 other farms we track in Will County. All Chicago Suburbs farms →
Map pin is set to the town centre. Navigate to the street address above, not the pin.
tammentreeberryfarm.net
Checked September 2026.