A genuine 'U-Cut' farm in Gwinnett County that has a history of selling out before the season naturally ends, with only limited pre-cut Fraser fir as a backup and no 2026 dates or pricing published yet.
Thompson’s Tree Farm in Lawrenceville markets itself explicitly as a “U-Cut” operation — customers select and cut their own tree in the field rather than having staff cut it for them. That framing is direct from the farm’s own site, though it doesn’t spell out whether a saw is provided as part of the experience or something you’re expected to bring yourself, which is worth asking about before you arrive assuming either way.
The single most useful piece of information in this record isn’t a date or a price — it’s a pattern. As checked in the off-season, the farm’s own website was displaying a message that it had been “officially sold out of trees” for a prior season. That’s a direct signal from the farm itself, not a guess, and it suggests Thompson’s is the kind of operation that can sell through its available inventory before the calendar season naturally winds down. If you’re the type of shopper who waits until mid-December to go tree hunting, that habit carries more real risk here than at a farm with a larger or more consistently available inventory.
Field-grown options are Thuja Green Giant, Murray Cypress, and Carolina Sapphire, per the farm’s general description. Pre-cut Fraser fir is also available, but explicitly only in “limited quantities,” positioned as a supplement to the main field-grown selection rather than a primary offering. If a specific pre-cut fir size or a fir tree at all is the point of your visit, that limited-quantity framing is a real reason to go earlier in the season rather than later, when what’s available is more likely to already be gone.
Photography sessions by appointment and Santa visits are both referenced in descriptions of the farm, but the Santa detail specifically is tied to a prior season and not confirmed for 2026. If either matters to your visit, treat them as things to confirm directly with the farm rather than assumptions to plan around.
No 2026 dates, hours, or pricing had been posted on the farm’s site as of this check. That leaves no honest number to offer for what a tree costs here, and no way to say confidently when the season opens. Given the farm’s history of selling out, that uncertainty compounds: not only do you not know the price, you don’t know how much time you’d have before availability runs out even if you’re flexible on when you visit.
Thompson’s offers a genuine, no-shortcuts cut-your-own experience with a straightforward tree selection, but its own track record of selling out before the season ends, combined with no published 2026 dates or pricing, makes this a farm to visit early in the season and to call ahead about rather than one to save for a late-December trip.
Not confirmed for 2026, but given the farm's own history of posting 'sold out' notices in prior seasons, earlier in whatever the 2026 season turns out to be is the safer bet than waiting until closer to Christmas.
Not stated in the record.
Not stated directly, but a farm that has sold out before the season's natural end is one where earlier visits likely mean more available inventory and, by extension, more visitors competing for it earlier in the window rather than later.
Not described in the record.
Not addressed in any source checked.
Skip Thompson's if you're set on a pre-cut Fraser fir specifically, since it's available only in 'limited quantities,' and skip visiting late in the season, since the farm's own site has previously posted 'sold out' messages before the calendar season ended.
Not available in the record checked.
Customers select and cut their own tree in the field themselves, per the farm's own description, though the site doesn't specify whether a saw is supplied or must be brought.
Thuja Green Giant, Murray cypress, and Carolina Sapphire in the field, plus pre-cut Fraser fir in limited quantities.
The farm's own website, as checked in the off-season, displayed a message about being 'officially sold out of trees' for a prior season, suggesting this can happen before the calendar season's natural end.
Photography sessions by appointment are referenced, along with Santa visits historically, though neither is confirmed for 2026.
2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. Check with the farm before driving out.
Pricing was not published when we last checked.
Yes. It's cut-your-own and choose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you).
1829 Prospect Road, Lawrenceville, GA 30043, in Gwinnett County. It is one of 7 farms we track in Atlanta Metro GA.
We track 7 farms in Atlanta Metro GA, 3 of which let you cut your own tree. The farm has not published a starting price, so it cannot be compared on cost — call before you budget.
What sets it apart locally: it has cut-your-own trees, which most Atlanta Metro GA farms on our list do not.
One caveat worth repeating: this farm had not published its 2026 dates when we last checked, while 1 of the 7 farms we track in Atlanta Metro GA had. Treat any date you see elsewhere as last year's until the farm confirms it.
Map pin is set to the town centre. Navigate to the street address above, not the pin.
thompsonstreefarm.com
Checked September 2026.