A fifth-generation Sand Mountain farm running since the 1970s with a weekend train ride as its signature draw, but its old website domain has been taken over by an unrelated casino site, and full hours and 2026 pricing aren't confirmed anywhere official.
2025-season pricing reported as $7/foot for holiday trees and $10/foot for trees meant to be replanted after the holidays; pre-cut trees at 'current farm price.' Not directly confirmed on an official farm website.
Thornhill Christmas Tree Farm, on Sand Mountain near Pisgah, has one of the longer and more specific family histories in this batch of research. The farm has been growing and selling choose-and-cut trees since the 1970s, started by Webb Gay and Joy Thornhill, and is now run by the fifth generation of the same family – Skyler Ramage and Cherie Thornhill-Ramage, per the sources checked. That kind of multi-generational continuity is a genuine point in the farm’s favor if a sense of local history matters to how you choose where to buy a tree.
Before anything else: if you search for this farm online, do not trust a result pointing to thornhillchristmastrees.com. That domain, once the farm’s own, now resolves to an unrelated Turkish-language online casino page – a direct check confirmed this at research time. It’s not a temporary outage or a redesign; the farm simply doesn’t control that address anymore. The reliable ways to reach Thornhill are its Facebook page (facebook.com/ThornhillTreeFarm) and its phone number, 256-451-3640.
The tree selection here is deliberately limited but reliable: Leyland cypress and White pine, per the record. That’s a narrower lineup than some larger farms in this research, but it’s a straightforward, no-guesswork pair of southern-adapted species. The signature extra is a weekend train ride at 1 PM and 3 PM, along with Santa visits, a gift shop, and free hot cocoa and hot apple cider while staff shake and bale your tree.
Unlike some farms in this batch with no pricing information at all, a secondary aggregator did report specific 2025-season numbers for Thornhill: $7 per foot for holiday trees, and $10 per foot for trees meant to be replanted after the season, with pre-cut trees priced separately at the farm’s current rate. That $3 gap between the two options is worth noting on its own, since it suggests the farm charges a premium for trees intended to survive being replanted – a reasonable structure, though the reasoning behind it isn’t explained in the source. The important caveat: this pricing was not directly confirmed on an official farm page, since none could be reliably located and read in full. Treat it as a solid, real-sounding number worth asking the farm to confirm, not a guaranteed 2026 rate.
Thornhill offers real family history, a distinctive train ride, and a rare (if unconfirmed) glimpse at actual pricing among this batch of farms. But between the hijacked domain and the lack of an official source for hours or the current season’s exact dates, plan to reach out via Facebook or phone before you drive out on Sand Mountain.
Not confirmed for 2026. The record notes a 2025 opening date of Nov. 18 reported by a secondary aggregator, and the farm has historically run daily through Christmas, but neither figure is confirmed on an official page read in full.
Not stated in the record. The farm confirms train rides run at 1 PM and 3 PM on weekends specifically, so a weekend visit timed around one of those slots would add structure to an otherwise open-ended stop.
Not stated directly, but the weekend-only train ride schedule (1 PM and 3 PM) suggests weekends draw more visitors specifically for that attraction than weekdays do -- a reasonable inference from the schedule itself, not a stated crowd fact.
Not described in the source material.
Not addressed in the source material.
Skip Thornhill if you're searching for it online and land on thornhillchristmastrees.com, since that domain no longer belongs to the farm and now hosts an unrelated casino page -- and skip planning around it if you need confirmed full-day hours or current pricing, since neither was found on an official source.
No specific nearby-farm comparison is available in this record.
A secondary aggregator reported 2025-season pricing of $7 per foot for holiday trees and $10 per foot for trees meant to be replanted, with pre-cut trees at the farm's current price. These figures were not directly confirmed on an official farm page, so treat them as a reported estimate rather than a guaranteed current rate.
Yes, on weekends at 1 PM and 3 PM, per the record.
Its long-standing domain, thornhillchristmastrees.com, now resolves to an unrelated casino page and is not the farm's actual site. Use the farm's Facebook page (facebook.com/ThornhillTreeFarm) or phone number instead.
Since the 1970s, and it's now run by the fifth generation of the same family, per the record.
2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. In past seasons it has run: Daily through Christmas (2025-season pattern). Check with the farm before driving out.
Pricing was not published when we last checked. 2025-season pricing reported as $7/foot for holiday trees and $10/foot for trees meant to be replanted after the holidays; pre-cut trees at 'current farm price.' Not directly confirmed on an official farm website.
Yes. It's choose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you).
15107 AL Highway 71, Pisgah, AL 35765, in Jackson County. It is one of 2 farms we track in North Alabama (Sand Mountain).
There are 8 other farms we track in Jackson County. All North Alabama (Sand Mountain) farms →
Map pin is set to the town centre. Navigate to the street address above, not the pin.
thornhillchristmastrees.com · facebook.com
Checked September 2026.