For farms

Tolmachoff Farms

📍 5726 N 75th Ave, Glendale, AZ 85303🗓 December 1 – December 23, 2026🏷 Pricing TBD

A real four-generation family farm selling precut fir despite marketing language that says 'choose-and-cut,' with a separate ticketed evening light show that costs real money on top of whatever the unpublished tree price turns out to be.

Tolmachoff Farms in Glendale, AZ

How you get your tree

This farm offers

pre-cut trees only

Included

hot cocoafire pitsjumping pillowtwo-story playhousekids' train ridewreaths and garland for sale

Christmas Lights on the Farm event: $7/person (children under 1 free); train ride add-on $5/child. Tree prices not posted.

Our take

Tolmachoff Farms is a genuine four-generation family produce operation in Glendale, better known locally for its fall pumpkin patch and corn maze, that sets up a Christmas tree sale on its own farm grounds each December. That’s a real distinction worth noting: this isn’t a pop-up lot in a parking lot somewhere, it’s an established working farm adding a seasonal tree operation to land it already farms year-round.

The “choose-and-cut” language doesn’t mean what it sounds like

The farm’s own site describes the experience using choose-and-cut language, which normally implies walking a field and cutting a living tree yourself. It doesn’t hold up here: Douglas fir, Nordmann fir, and Noble fir are the three species sold, and none of them grow in Glendale’s low-desert climate, which sits around 1,100 feet elevation with summer highs regularly over 100°F. These trees are grown elsewhere and shipped in already cut, then sold on the farm’s grounds. The record classifies this as precut_only rather than taking the farm’s own marketing term at face value, and that’s worth knowing before you show up expecting a saw-in-hand experience. What you’re actually getting is a precut tree sold at a real, longstanding family farm rather than a generic tree lot — a genuine value, just not the one the phrase “choose-and-cut” implies.

Two separate things happening on the same property

There are effectively two different events here, and they run on different schedules. The tree lot itself operates daily, 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM, December 1 through 23 in the 2025 season — a full three-week, seven-day-a-week window, which is more generous than most farms in this dataset. Separately, the farm runs a ticketed evening event called Christmas Lights on the Farm, Friday and Saturday nights only, 6:00 to 9:00 PM, December 5-20. That event adds hot cocoa, fire pits, a jumping pillow, a two-story playhouse, and a kids’ train ride to the property after dark. If you’re just there to buy a tree on a Tuesday afternoon, none of that evening infrastructure applies to your visit — and if you specifically want the light show, you need to come on one of the limited Friday or Saturday nights, not just any day the tree lot happens to be open.

What the numbers actually tell you

The record is specific about the Lights event pricing and silent on tree pricing, and that split matters for budgeting. Admission to Christmas Lights on the Farm is $7 per person, with children under 1 admitted free, and the kids’ train ride is a separate $5-per-child add-on rather than something bundled into the base ticket. A family of four with a toddler wanting the train ride, for instance, is looking at three paid admissions plus one free plus a train ride fee — real numbers you can plan a budget around. What you can’t plan around is the tree itself: no per-tree or per-foot price was posted anywhere checked at the time of this research, which is a genuine gap for a farm this well-documented in other respects. Ask when you arrive, or call (602) 999-3276 ahead of time if a firm number matters before you commit to the trip.

Other things on offer

Beyond the lights event and the tree lot, the farm sells wreaths and garland, which is a straightforward add-on for anyone decorating beyond just the tree. Given how established and detailed this listing is in every other respect, the missing tree price stands out as the one call worth making before you go.

Planning your visit

Best time to go

The 2025 tree lot ran Dec 1-23, daily, 9:00 AM-5:00 PM — the widest daily window of any farm in this batch. If you also want the Christmas Lights evening event, that only runs Friday and Saturday, Dec 5-20, 6:00-9:00 PM, so those are two different calendars to plan around.

How long to budget

Not stated for the daytime tree lot. The evening Christmas Lights event runs a three-hour window (6:00-9:00 PM), which suggests it's built as a longer visit than a quick tree pickup.

Crowds

Not stated directly, but a daily 9 AM-5 PM tree lot spreads visits across more days than a weekend-only operation, which should ease crowding for the tree purchase itself. The Friday/Saturday-only Christmas Lights event, by contrast, concentrates evening visitors into just two nights a week between Dec 5-20.

Parking

Not described in the record.

Strollers and accessibility

Not addressed in the source.

What to bring

  • Cash or card — the record doesn't specify which is accepted, so bring both to be safe
  • A separate budget line for the Christmas Lights event if you want it, since it's ticketed apart from the tree purchase itself
  • Realistic expectations about the trees themselves: despite the farm's own 'choose-and-cut' phrasing, these are precut Douglas, Nordmann, and Noble fir shipped in, not trees grown and cut on Glendale's low-desert farmland

How to spend less here

  • Christmas Lights on the Farm is $7 per person, with children under 1 admitted free, so a family with an infant saves that one ticket outright
  • The kids' train ride is a $5-per-child add-on to the Lights event, not included in the base $7 admission, so factor that in separately if your kids will want to ride it
  • No per-tree or per-foot price is posted anywhere in the record, so there's no way to budget the actual tree cost in advance — ask on arrival

Who it suits

Good for

  • Visitors who want daily tree-buying availability rather than a weekend-only window
  • Families who want to add a paid evening light show with fire pits, a jumping pillow, and a kids' train ride to the trip
  • Shoppers who don't need cut-your-own and are fine choosing from precut Douglas, Nordmann, or Noble fir

Skip it if

Skip the evening Christmas Lights add-on if you're on a tight budget and just want a tree, since it's a separate $7-per-person ticketed event (plus $5 per child for the train ride) that runs only Friday and Saturday nights, and skip this farm entirely if cutting your own tree from a living field matters to you, since despite the farm's own 'choose-and-cut' language, the fir species sold here don't grow in Glendale's low-desert climate and are trucked in precut.

Worth pairing with

No specific nearby-farm comparison is available in this record.

Common questions

Can I cut my own tree at Tolmachoff Farms?

No, despite the farm's own site describing the experience as 'choose-and-cut.' Douglas, Nordmann, and Noble fir do not grow in Glendale's low-desert climate, so the trees are understood to be grown elsewhere and shipped in precut for on-site sale. The record classifies this farm as precut_only.

How much does a tree cost?

Not posted anywhere found in this research. The only confirmed prices are for the separate Christmas Lights event: $7 per person (free under age 1) and a $5-per-child train ride add-on.

Is the Christmas Lights event the same thing as buying a tree?

No. The tree lot runs daily, 9:00 AM-5:00 PM, Dec 1-23, with no admission mentioned. The Christmas Lights on the Farm event is a separate ticketed evening experience, Friday and Saturday only, 6:00-9:00 PM, Dec 5-20, with its own $7 admission.

What tree species are available?

Douglas fir, Nordmann fir, and Noble fir, per the record.

When is Tolmachoff Farms open in 2026?

December 1 – December 23, 2026. Daily (tree lot); Fridays and Saturdays only for the separate ticketed Christmas Lights event (Dec 5-20, 2025). Hours: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM (tree lot); 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM Fri/Sat (Christmas Lights event).

How much does a tree cost at Tolmachoff Farms?

Pricing was not published when we last checked. Christmas Lights on the Farm event: $7/person (children under 1 free); train ride add-on $5/child. Tree prices not posted.

Can I cut my own tree at Tolmachoff Farms?

No — this farm sells pre-cut trees it grew itself; you don't cut your own here.

Where is Tolmachoff Farms?

5726 N 75th Ave, Glendale, AZ 85303, in Maricopa County. It is one of 2 farms we track in Phoenix Metro.

Other farms near Glendale

There is 1 other farm we track in Maricopa County. All Phoenix Metro farms →

Quick facts

SeasonDecember 1 – December 23, 2026
Days openDaily (tree lot); Fridays and Saturdays only for the separate ticketed Christmas Lights event (Dec 5-20, 2025)
Hours9:00 AM - 5:00 PM (tree lot); 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM Fri/Sat (Christmas Lights event)
Starting priceNot published
Tree typesDouglas fir, Nordmann fir, Noble fir
CountyMaricopa County
RegionPhoenix Metro

Sources

tolmachoff-farms.com · imagesarizona.com

Checked September 2026.