A family-friendly farm with a petting zoo and both self-cut and staff-cut trees, under new ownership since 2022 with drought-related stock changes reported, so it's worth confirming what's actually available before you drive out.
Minimum tree height is 5 feet per recent news coverage; no dollar figures published online.
Windy Knoll is one of the newer stories in this batch of Kansas farms — not newly opened, but under new management. The Adams family took over in December 2022, and a KSN news feature from around that time reported the new owners making changes to their crop because of drought stress. That’s a genuinely useful piece of context: tree availability and variety here may shift more year to year than at farms that have run the same fields under the same family for decades.
The clearest differentiator in the record is the petting zoo, described as one of the few offered alongside tree fields in this research batch. Combined with hayrides, a fire pit with s’mores, apple cider, hot chocolate, and popcorn, this reads as a farm built with young families in mind rather than a bare-bones cut-and-go operation. Both self-cut (with saws provided) and staff-cut trees are available, drawn from a decent variety — Austrian pine, Scotch pine, Virginia pine, White pine, and Fraser fir — plus a free tree bag with purchase and tree wrapping service.
One concrete constraint: a 5-foot minimum tree height applies, according to recent news coverage. If you’re hoping for a small tabletop tree, this isn’t the farm for that.
The hours in the record come from an older cross-check listing — Sunday 10am-5pm and Monday-Wednesday 2-5pm before Thanksgiving, then a more complex weekday/Saturday/Sunday split after — and are explicitly not confirmed for 2026. The season is set to open November 22, 2026 (the Sunday before Thanksgiving) based on the farm’s described pattern, but no closing date is given. Given the ownership change and the drought story, it’s reasonable to expect this farm’s operational details might have shifted more than a longer-tenured competitor’s, so a phone call before visiting carries more weight here than it might elsewhere.
Neither price_from nor a dollar-figure price_note exists in the record for Windy Knoll — the only pricing-adjacent detail is the 5-foot minimum height, which is a size rule, not a cost. That means there’s genuinely no number to offer for what a tree runs here. Given the free tree bag and complimentary cider, hot chocolate, and popcorn, the extras won’t add much to a visit’s cost, but the core tree price itself needs to be asked about on arrival or confirmed by phone.
Windy Knoll looks like a solid pick for families with young kids thanks to the petting zoo and fire pit, and the flexibility of self-cut or staff-cut trees is a genuine convenience. But the combination of a recent ownership change, a documented drought-stress story, and hours that aren’t confirmed for 2026 means this is a farm worth calling ahead to, rather than assuming last year’s details still apply.
The record shows the season opening the Sunday before Thanksgiving (Nov 22, 2026), with Sunday-Wednesday hours early on before expanding through mid-December. Early in that window, before the post-Thanksgiving rush, is the calmer option based on the hours pattern alone.
Not stated directly, but a petting zoo plus a fire pit with s'mores suggests planning for a longer visit than a quick cut-and-go, especially with kids along.
Not stated directly, but a petting zoo is a strong draw for families with young kids, and family draws tend to concentrate visits on weekends and the days right after Thanksgiving.
Not described in the record.
Not addressed in the source. Both self-cut and staff-assisted cutting are offered, which gives some flexibility for visitors who can't manage a saw themselves.
Skip Windy Knoll if you're set on a specific tree height under 5 feet, since a 5-foot minimum applies per recent news coverage, and skip a spontaneous weekday-evening visit without calling, since the hours pattern (not confirmed for 2026) shows limited weekday windows.
No specific nearby-farm comparison is available in this record.
Both are offered per the record. Saws are provided for self-cutting, and staff-assisted cutting is also available, along with some precut Fraser fir and white pine.
Yes. Recent news coverage cited in the record puts the minimum cut tree height at 5 feet.
A KSN news story reported the new owners (the Adams family, who took over in December 2022) making changes to their crop due to drought stress. The record notes tree availability and varieties could shift year to year here more than at longer-established farms, so confirming stock before visiting is worth doing.
Yes. The record lists a petting zoo, described as one of the few in the area among tree farms researched, plus hayrides and a fire pit with s'mores.
Opens November 22, 2026 (closing date not published). Sun-Wed early season, then expanded through mid-December. Hours: Sun before Thanksgiving: Sun 10am-5pm, Mon-Wed 2-5pm; after Thanksgiving: Mon-Fri 3-5pm, Sat 10am-5pm, Sun 1-5pm (hours per older cross-check listing, not confirmed for 2026).
Pricing was not published when we last checked. Minimum tree height is 5 feet per recent news coverage; no dollar figures published online.
Yes. It's cut-your-own and choose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you), and a saw is provided.
15630 E. 47th St. S, Derby, KS 67037, in Sedgwick County. It is one of 5 farms we track in Wichita Region.
We track 5 farms in Wichita Region, 5 of which let you cut your own tree. The farm has not published a starting price, so it cannot be compared on cost — call before you budget.
What sets it apart locally: it has a petting area, a hayride or sleigh ride, which most Wichita Region farms on our list do not.
There are 2 other farms we track in Sedgwick County. All Wichita Region farms →
Map pin is set to the town centre. Navigate to the street address above, not the pin.
windyknolltrees.info · pickyourownchristmastree.org · facebook.com
Checked September 2026.